Astaxanthin-Rich Oleoresin in Revital: How to Read the 10 mg Label Line
TL;DR:
- Start with the verified Revital label, daily serving and warning language.
- Use the three cited scientific sources as context; do not convert them into a finished-product medical claim.
- Keep suitability conditional on the complete formula, current label and individual professional guidance.
Editorial answer: Revital’s verified French label declares 10 mg of astaxanthin-rich oleoresin derived from Haematococcus pluvialis algae in the recommended daily serving of two capsules. The 10 mg is the mass of the oleoresin ingredient, not 10 mg of pure astaxanthin; because the label gives no assay or percentage, the contained astaxanthin amount cannot be calculated from that line.
This guide is about unit discipline and study transfer. It does not rank astaxanthin materials, prescribe a target or claim efficacy or a finished-formula outcome. It asks whether a paper and a label describe the same material, amount and protocol before any connection is made.
At the 5 September 2026 editorial check, Shopify classified the mapped Revital record as ACTIVE, and the canonical PDP and product JSON returned direct HTTP 200. Variant 56845976273278 showed 195 units, deny policy, availability true and EUR 24.87. Those mutable facts require another check immediately before POST and do not change how the 10 mg line is read.

Table of Contents
- Read the Two Label Layers
- Separate Oleoresin Mass From Active Amount
- Use EFSA Units Without Importing a Specification
- Audit the 40 mg Formulation Study
- Audit the Salmon Food-Matrix Study
- Audit the Diesters Study
- Retain the Complete Revital Label
- Apply a Nine-Field Transfer Check
Key Takeaways
| Question | Verified answer | Boundary |
|---|---|---|
| What does 10 mg describe? | Astaxanthin-rich oleoresin per two capsules | Not 10 mg of pure astaxanthin |
| Is the algal source known? | Yes: Haematococcus pluvialis | No strain, assay or extraction method is declared |
| Can pure astaxanthin be calculated? | No | The required percentage is absent |
| Does the warning prove an ester profile? | No | It restricts same-day use with other supplements containing astaxanthin esters |
| Did the three papers test Revital? | No | Each used a different characterized exposure |
Read the Two Label Layers
The active table declares 10 mg of astaxanthin-rich oleoresin and identifies Haematococcus pluvialis in parentheses. The ingredient list adds that the oleoresin is derived from that alga. These two lines establish ingredient category, source organism, daily serving and oleoresin mass.
They do not establish an astaxanthin percentage, an amount of pure astaxanthin, an ester profile, a stereoisomer profile or an extraction method. The species is reportable because the label names it. Every additional specification remains unknown unless a current document for this exact ingredient states it.
The distinction matters because “10 mg oleoresin” and “10 mg astaxanthin” have different nouns. A number cannot be detached from the substance it quantifies. The reporting unit here is the complete oleoresin ingredient per two capsules.
Separate Oleoresin Mass From Active Amount
An oleoresin is a material that can contain multiple constituents. To calculate the mass of one constituent, an analyst needs both the total ingredient mass and a verified assay for that constituent. Revital supplies the first value only: 10 mg of oleoresin.
| Field | Revital label status | Editorial action |
|---|---|---|
| Ingredient mass | 10 mg astaxanthin-rich oleoresin | Report exactly |
| Source organism | Haematococcus pluvialis | Report as label-declared source |
| Astaxanthin assay or percentage | Not declared | Do not calculate an active amount |
| Ester and stereoisomer profile | Not declared | Do not infer from another material |
| Extraction method | Not declared | Leave unspecified |
A label reader therefore cannot solve “10 mg multiplied by an unknown percentage.” No assumed industry percentage, supplier norm or value from another product closes that gap. Even a plausible estimate would cease to be a transcription of Revital’s label.
Use EFSA Units Without Importing a Specification
The official EFSA call for data on the astaxanthin safety assessment records the EU authorization context for a specified Haematococcus pluvialis astaxanthin-rich ingredient using two separate quantities: 40–80 mg of ingredient and a corresponding maximum of 8 mg astaxanthin per day. That unit structure is useful for label literacy because ingredient mass and quantified constituent mass remain distinct.
It is not a conversion key for Revital. The EFSA opinion evaluates specifications and exposure conditions described in that dossier; the Revital label does not disclose the assay needed to show equivalence. Do not apply EFSA’s ratio, maximum or ingredient specification to Revital, and do not use this article as an assessment of individual suitability.
Audit the 40 mg Formulation Study
The 2003 open parallel pharmacokinetic study enrolled 32 healthy nonsmoking men aged 20–46. After a breakfast containing about 15 g fat, each participant received one nominal 40 mg astaxanthin dose in one of four parallel formulations. The reference used spray-dried Haematococcus pluvialis algal meal with dextrin; the other formulations added specified lipid and emulsifier systems. Blood sampling extended from predose through 28 days.
That design records a quantified astaxanthin dose, named algal material and distinct formulation matrices. Revital records 10 mg of oleoresin but no astaxanthin assay. The paper did not administer Revital, its complete formula or its two-capsule serving. Its 40 mg number cannot be scaled against Revital’s 10 mg number because the numbers quantify different things.
Audit the Salmon Food-Matrix Study
The 2008 randomized double-blind food intervention assigned 28 healthy men aged 20–49 to two groups for four weeks. Participants ate 250 g per day of wild Oncorhynchus species or aquacultured Salmo salar. Both foods were assayed at 5 micrograms astaxanthin per gram, yielding 1.25 mg astaxanthin per day, and the protocol used fasting plasma sampling plus reverse-phase and chiral HPLC.
This is a quantified constituent delivered in a salmon food matrix, with source groups and analytical characterization built into the protocol. Revital is a multi-ingredient capsule whose 10 mg line quantifies oleoresin. The study’s daily amount, matrix, source and four-week schedule should be recorded, not converted into a claim about the capsule.
Audit the Diesters Study
The 2004 sequential single-dose pharmacokinetic study involved three men aged 41–50. One meal delivered a 10 mg astaxanthin equivalent from a fatty-acyl astaxanthin diester preparation; four weeks later, a second meal delivered 100 mg equivalent from the same preparation. Plasma sampling continued for 76 hours, and the paper reported the preparation’s geometric and optical-isomer composition.
This paper is the clearest warning against number matching. Its first dose and Revital’s label both display “10 mg,” but one is a quantified astaxanthin equivalent from a characterized diester preparation and the other is total oleoresin mass without an assay. Identical numerals do not create equivalent exposures. The tiny sequential study also supplies no basis for rewriting Revital’s undeclared ester, isomer or extraction fields.
Compare the Three Protocols
| Protocol | Reported exposure | Matrix and schedule | Why transfer stops |
|---|---|---|---|
| PMID 12885395 | Nominal 40 mg astaxanthin | Named algal-meal formulations; one dose | Different unit and characterized formulation |
| PMID 17967218 | 1.25 mg astaxanthin daily | 250 g salmon daily; four weeks | Food matrix, assayed amount and different schedule |
| PMID 15556071 | 10 mg then 100 mg astaxanthin equivalents | Characterized diesters; two acute meals four weeks apart | Equivalent-active unit and declared ester/isomer composition |
| Revital label | 10 mg astaxanthin-rich oleoresin | Two-capsule multi-ingredient serving daily | Astaxanthin assay and detailed material specification absent |
The table does not decide which material is preferable. It aligns nouns, units, matrices and schedules so that an undeclared field remains undeclared.
Retain the Complete Revital Label
The verified panel covers a 90-capsule format and directs adults to take two capsules daily with water, preferably during a meal. Amounts below are per that full daily serving.
| Declared entry | Amount | Verified form or label note |
|---|---|---|
| Shilajit | 200 mg | No standardization on the primary panel |
| Creatine | 100 mg | Creatine monohydrate in ingredients |
| NADH | 100 mg | Do not replace with the PDP’s 600 mg NAD+ wording |
| Alpha-lipoic acid | 100 mg | Exact active-table name |
| Quercetin | 100 mg | Exact active-table name |
| L-carnitine | 100 mg | Exact active-table name |
| L-arginine alpha-ketoglutarate | 100 mg | Exact active-table name |
| Ribose | 100 mg | Exact active-table name |
| Resveratrol | 60 mg | The warning separately names trans-resveratrol |
| Algae oil | 50 mg | Spirulina platensis oil in ingredients |
| Coenzyme Q10 | 40 mg | Exact active-table name |
| Magnesium | 30 mg; 8% NRV | Magnesium oxide in ingredients |
| Zinc | 10 mg; 100% NRV | Zinc bisglycinate in ingredients |
| Black pepper fruit extract | 10 mg | Piper nigrum |
| Astaxanthin-rich oleoresin | 10 mg oleoresin | Derived from Haematococcus pluvialis algae |
| Vitamin E | 10 mg; 83% NRV | DL-alpha-tocopheryl acetate in ingredients |
| Vitamin D | 4 micrograms; 80% NRV | Cholecalciferol in ingredients |
The ingredient list also names the HPMC capsule shell and silicon dioxide. The label declares manufacture in China by Xi’an ECO Biotech Factory Co., Ltd. for POLARSTAR OÜ. A France-facing handle and regulatory artifact do not change that manufacturing statement.
Keep every warning attached to the formula: adults only; not recommended during pregnancy or breastfeeding; do not exceed the recommended dose; keep away from young children; and do not use while taking medication because the formula contains trans-resveratrol. Do not consume it on the same day as other supplements containing astaxanthin esters. That last sentence is a use restriction, not disclosure of Revital’s ester profile.
The label also says supplements do not replace a varied, balanced diet and healthy lifestyle, and directs storage in a cool, dry place protected from light and moisture. It names no allergen or free-from status, so absence of an allergen statement cannot become an allergen-free claim.
Apply a Nine-Field Transfer Check
- Reporting unit: ingredient mass, quantified astaxanthin or astaxanthin equivalent?
- Source: which organism and material does the paper name?
- Assay: is the astaxanthin percentage measured for the exact material?
- Form: are ester and stereoisomer details specified?
- Matrix: algal meal, food, oleoresin, oil system or multi-ingredient capsule?
- Amount: what substance does the number quantify?
- Schedule: one dose, repeated daily use or a sequential design?
- Population: who participated and how many people were studied?
- Sampling period: when and how were variables measured?
For Revital, the answer begins with 10 mg astaxanthin-rich oleoresin from Haematococcus pluvialis per two capsules. Assay, ester profile, stereoisomer profile and extraction method remain unanswered. That is enough to read the label accurately and enough reason not to convert the line into 10 mg of pure astaxanthin.
Review the current Revital product information for the live handle and commerce status, while retaining the regulatory label as the formula source. Recheck both immediately before publication; if a future label supplies an assay or revised wording, repeat this field-by-field audit rather than carrying today’s gap forward.
Frequently Asked Questions
What exactly does the Revital label declare for astaxanthin-rich oleoresin?
The verified French label declares 10 mg of astaxanthin-rich oleoresin derived from Haematococcus pluvialis algae in the recommended daily serving of two capsules. The 10 mg describes the oleoresin, not a quantified amount of pure astaxanthin.
Can the amount of astaxanthin in Revital be calculated from the label?
No. The label does not provide an astaxanthin assay or percentage, so the amount of astaxanthin within the 10 mg oleoresin cannot be calculated from the verified information.
Does the astaxanthin-ester warning disclose Revital’s ester profile?
No. The warning says not to consume Revital on the same day as other supplements containing astaxanthin esters. It is a use restriction and does not state Revital’s ester composition, isomer pattern or extraction method.
Did any of the three cited human studies test Revital or 10 mg of its oleoresin?
No. The studies used quantified astaxanthin in algal-meal formulations, a salmon food matrix, or a characterized diester preparation. None tested Revital, its two-capsule serving or its complete formula.
What should be matched before applying an astaxanthin study to a label?
Match the reporting unit, source, assay, matrix, administered form, amount, schedule, population and sampling period. If a key field is missing or different, describe the gap instead of transferring the study.
Recommended
- How to Choose a Daily Energy Supplement: Five Revital Criteria
- How to Audit Ingredient Form and Study Transfer on a Label
- How to Separate Label Amounts, Forms, and Study Protocols
- Review the current Revital product information
Our research and formulas have been recognized by leading media outlets such as Marie Claire.
Scientific References
- Mercke Odeberg et al. (2003): open parallel single-dose pharmacokinetic comparison in 32 healthy nonsmoking men using a nominal 40 mg astaxanthin dose in four Haematococcus pluvialis algal-meal formulations
- Rüfer et al. (2008): randomized double-blind four-week food intervention in 28 healthy men using 250 g salmon daily, assayed to provide 1.25 mg astaxanthin per day
- Coral-Hinostroza et al. (2004): sequential single-dose pharmacokinetic study in three men using 10 mg and, four weeks later, 100 mg astaxanthin equivalents from a characterized fatty-acyl diester preparation
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. BioEssentials products are food supplements intended to support general wellness and daily nutritional needs. They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any new supplement if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication, or managing a health condition.