Two adult women reading a botanical book together in a sunlit library

ReishiNova Astragalus 180 mg: Reading the Extract Ratio


TL;DR:

  • ReishiNova lists Astragalus membranaceus root extract 180 mg in its two-capsule daily panel.
  • A raw-root equivalent needs a verified extract ratio and a matching native-extract mass; ReishiNova's panel does not provide those inputs.
  • A marker percentage, a native-extract percentage and an extraction ratio answer different questions and must not be swapped.

ReishiNova's 180 mg Astragalus root-extract entry cannot be converted into a raw-root equivalent from the verified panel alone. A buyer needs the extract ratio, its mass basis and any carrier information before that arithmetic has a defined meaning.

Two adult women reading a botanical book together in a sunlit library

Table of Contents

Key Takeaways

Quantity What it can describe
Extract mass The labeled amount of an extract preparation.
Genuine extract ratio Starting material relative to the native preparation.
Native-extract mass The relevant preparation without added excipients.
Marker content A measured constituent on a stated mass basis.
Raw-root equivalent A calculation requiring matching, verified inputs.

The number on the panel

The current label identifies Astragalus membranaceus root extract and gives 180 mg per recommended daily serving of two capsules. It does not state a drug-extract ratio, extraction solvent or quantified marker for that ingredient. It also does not establish whether the stated mass is a native-extract quantity or a formulated extract powder with added carriers.

Those omissions leave specific comparisons unanswered. They do not prove that the extract has no constituents, or that a carrier is present. They mean that its starting-root equivalent, native fraction and marker dose cannot be calculated from the available panel. Keep the confirmed 180 mg separate from these unknown fields.

This is a purchasing-information question, not a search for the largest multiplication factor. Two labels can both say root extract while using numbers with different denominators. Before comparing them, find out what each number measures.

What an extract ratio describes

EMA's declaration guidance for herbal medicinal products distinguishes the herbal starting material from the genuine, or native, preparation and its extraction solvent. A genuine drug-extract ratio relates the starting-material quantity to the resulting native preparation. This terminology helps explain a specification; it does not classify ReishiNova, a food supplement, as a medicine.

A ratio describes preparation quantities. It is not a percentage of astragalosides or polysaccharides, and it does not show how much of the starting material's individual constituents entered the final preparation. A range may be reported instead of one fixed ratio. The applicable definition and preparation basis need to accompany it.

The current ReishiNova panel does not supply a ratio, so there is no verified factor to place beside 180 mg. A ratio found on another product or in a study does not fill that field.

One adult woman making notes beside an open book at a bright oak desk

Native extract and formulated powder

Native-extract mass and final powder mass need not be identical when excipients are added after extraction. EMA's quality Q&A separates those added materials from the native preparation. A declaration of a carrier fraction answers a different question from an extraction ratio.

For a buyer, the useful question is which mass the supplier's ratio applies to. If it applies to native extract, multiplying the whole formulated powder by that ratio can give the wrong starting-material figure. If the label's mass basis is not specified, do not assume that every milligram is native extract or guess a carrier percentage.

Added carriers should be recorded if verified, not presumed from the product format. The presence or absence of that information changes what can be calculated; it does not, by itself, establish whether an extract is suitable for a reader.

When root-equivalent arithmetic works

Consider a hypothetical preparation, not ReishiNova: a supplier documents 100 mg of native extract with a genuine ratio of 5:1. On that specified basis, the corresponding starting-material amount is 100 mg multiplied by five, or 500 mg. If the finished powder additionally contains 100 mg of carrier, its total 200 mg is not the native quantity for that calculation.

This example shows why both inputs matter. The ratio needs to describe the same preparation as the mass, and the starting material's stated basis must also match. A raw-root equivalent is then a manufacturing-quantity comparison, not a claim that extract and root powder have identical composition or effects.

For ReishiNova, the required information is missing. Do not multiply its 180 mg entry by the hypothetical factor above, and do not present an estimated root equivalent as a declared label quantity.

Markers answer another question

A marker assay can quantify a constituent or constituent group. Its percentage needs its own denominator: native extract, formulated powder or another specified basis. Even a verified marker percentage is not interchangeable with an extract ratio or with every constituent in the preparation.

In Zheng and colleagues' NMR profiling study, defined Astragali Radix samples and analytical preparations produced distinguishable chemical profiles. That study explains why an extract's preparation matters, but it supplies no native fraction, ratio or marker level for ReishiNova.

Li and colleagues' monosaccharide-mapping study analyzed specified root batches using sequential extraction and GC-MS. Its separated fractions and measured sugar profiles are laboratory results, not percentages that can be applied to a commercial ingredient with an unspecified extraction process.

A practical comparison record

Record the labeled extract amount, the genuine ratio if declared, its native-mass basis, any added-carrier fraction and any marker measurement. Keep the supplier's units attached to each entry. Where something is not stated, leave that field unresolved rather than silently substituting data from another preparation.

For the current ReishiNova panel, this record contains 180 mg of Astragalus root extract and no verified DER, solvent or marker specification. A technical document could supply more information, but it would need to match the commercial material. Without it, choosing between root-equivalent figures is not a valid comparison.

The same two-capsule panel lists reishi fruiting-body extract 360 mg, cordyceps fruiting body 300 mg, vitamin C 200 mg, zinc 10 mg, selenium 55 micrograms, vitamin D 25 micrograms and copper 1 mg alongside Astragalus root extract. Cordyceps is named as fruiting body, not an extract. No specific allergen is declared; that does not establish an allergen-free claim.

Also read the whole formula and warnings. ReishiNova is for adults and is not recommended during pregnancy or breastfeeding. It contains plant extracts and mushrooms. Seek professional advice with medication, immunocompromised status, an autoimmune condition or anticoagulant use. Do not exceed the labeled use, keep it away from children and do not substitute it for a varied, balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle.

ReishiNova Astragalus root extract 180 mg with unknown native extract mass and ratio preventing a root-equivalent calculation

Current ReishiNova information

Read the current ReishiNova product information with the relevant container label. A declared extract amount is useful information, but it is not a complete manufacturing specification. This guide does not supply the missing ratio, promise stock or establish a result from the finished formula.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does 180 mg tell me the raw-root equivalent?

Not by itself. A calculation needs a verified ratio and the mass basis to which it applies. The current ReishiNova panel does not provide those inputs, so an estimated starting-root amount should not be presented as a declared quantity.

Is an extract ratio the same as a marker percentage?

No. A genuine extract ratio compares preparation quantities, while a marker percentage quantifies a constituent on a stated basis. Neither number supplies the other, and neither alone establishes equivalence to a preparation used in a study.

Can I assume the whole labelled mass is native extract?

The verified panel does not establish that basis. It also does not prove that a carrier has been added. Until a matching specification explains the preparation, avoid assuming either a native fraction or an excipient percentage.

Can the hypothetical 5:1 example be applied to ReishiNova?

No. The example explains the arithmetic using invented, clearly labelled inputs for another hypothetical preparation. ReishiNova's ratio is not verified, and its 180 mg must not be multiplied by that illustrative factor.

What else needs checking before considering ReishiNova?

Read the complete formula, the two-capsule daily instructions and all warnings. It is for adults and not recommended during pregnancy or breastfeeding. Medication, anticoagulant use, immunocompromised status and autoimmune conditions call for professional advice before use.


BioEssentials' press page records a Marie Claire feature in partnership with Medias France. Media coverage is not scientific validation of this formula.

Scientific References

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. BioEssentials products are food supplements intended to support general wellness and daily nutritional needs. They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any new supplement if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication, or managing a health condition.