Harmony Amylase 22 mg: What an Activity Assay Must Report
TL;DR:
- Harmony's primary label lists amylase 22 mg, but does not state an activity unit, enzyme source or subtype.
- An amylase assay needs a defined substrate, pH, temperature, duration and measurement method; none can be inferred from Harmony's ingredient mass.
- Harmony's label and current web page give conflicting capsule instructions, so this article does not choose a dose or rescale the panel.
Harmony's 22 mg amylase entry is an ingredient-mass declaration, not a measured activity result. To interpret an enzyme-activity figure, a reader needs the assay conditions and unit definition as well as the identity of the enzyme preparation.

Table of Contents
- Mass is only one measurement
- An assay asks a defined question
- Substrate and readout
- pH, temperature and time
- Units and specific activity
- What a real study shows
- The current Harmony panel
- Current Harmony information
- Frequently Asked Questions
- Scientific References
Key Takeaways
| Reported item | Question it answers |
|---|---|
| 22 mg amylase | What ingredient mass does the label declare? |
| Activity unit | What reaction rate is measured? |
| Assay conditions | With which substrate and under what conditions? |
| Enzyme identity | Which preparation and subtype were tested? |
| Serving instructions | Which verified directions apply to the container? |
Mass is only one measurement
The primary Harmony panel lists amylase 22 mg alongside protease 22 mg and lipase 22 mg. These are mass entries. Equal milligram figures do not establish equal activity, and the ingredients act on different classes of material. Comparing the numbers as though they were the same enzyme measurement would miss that distinction.
The amylase line does not declare activity units, source, subtype or assay conditions. It also does not state a specific-activity value that could connect the mass to a reaction rate. The responsible reading is therefore limited: amylase is listed, and 22 mg is stated; its measured activity is not established by that entry.
This is not evidence that the ingredient has no activity. It is a boundary on what the available panel allows a reader to calculate or compare.
An assay asks a defined question
An enzyme assay measures a reaction under a specified laboratory setup. It needs to identify the preparation being tested, what it reacts with and how the change is detected. A rate without that setup is an incomplete description, even when the number appears precise.
For example, IUBMB's alpha-amylase entry defines EC 3.2.1.1 through its reaction on particular alpha-linked glucose polymers. That is a specific enzyme classification. Harmony's broader word amylase does not, by itself, verify that this exact subtype is the ingredient used.
Keep a general explanation separate from the product identity. Describing a well-defined alpha-amylase reaction can help a reader understand an assay, but it does not identify Harmony's source, subtype or manufacturing specification.
Substrate and readout
The substrate is the material offered to the enzyme in the test. An activity value measured against one starch preparation is not automatically equivalent to a result obtained with a different substrate. The test also needs its substrate concentration, because a vague description such as starch assay leaves the setup incomplete.
The readout specifies what change is counted. A method may measure released reducing groups against a particular standard, for example. That result should be reported with the unit definition that belongs to it, rather than shortened to an unexplained potency number.
When comparing two reports, first check whether their substrates and readouts match. If they do not, two identical-looking numbers may describe different measurements. This comparison problem cannot be solved by substituting the ingredient mass printed on a product panel.
pH, temperature and time
pH describes the acidity or alkalinity of the reaction mixture. Temperature and reaction duration are also part of the method. They are not optional details to remove once the result has been obtained: they define the conditions under which that result was measured.
A report of activity and a report of stability answer different questions. Measuring a reaction at one moment is not the same as asking how much activity remains after storage or exposure to a stated condition. A time period and test method need to accompany either comparison.
Laboratory conditions also should not be presented as a map of what happens after someone swallows a multi-ingredient capsule. A human-use claim would need suitable product-specific evidence. The current amylase label entry does not provide such a study or an assay result.
Units and specific activity
IUPAC's older enzyme-unit definition expresses activity through the conversion of a stated substrate amount per minute under specified assay conditions. The entry also notes the unit's non-SI status. Its value here is to distinguish a reaction-rate quantity from a mass quantity, not to prescribe a unit for Harmony.
Specific activity connects an activity measurement to a stated mass basis. Before using such a value, a reader must know whether that basis describes purified protein, an enzyme preparation or another defined material. A value measured for a different preparation cannot be borrowed to turn Harmony's 22 mg into units.
The missing link is therefore not a multiplication trick. It is a matching measurement. Without that measurement, the product's activity should remain undeclared rather than estimated from another enzyme's result.
What a real study shows
Jabbour and colleagues characterized a defined recombinant alpha-amylase using soluble starch, specified buffers, temperatures and reaction periods. Their activity unit was tied to the release of maltose-equivalent reducing groups. The paper also examined how substrate and test conditions affected the result.
The enzyme came from a biogas-reactor metagenome and was studied for unusual laboratory properties. It was not identified as Harmony's enzyme, and its activity or temperature profile must not be assigned to the product. The study is useful here because it makes the assay's inputs visible, not because it supplies missing label information.
The current Harmony panel
The primary panel also lists ten bacterial cultures at 260 billion CFU, inulin 82 mg, FOS 40 mg, GOS 40 mg, protease and lipase 22 mg each, vitamin C 18 mg and vitamin D 20 micrograms. These are label declarations, not independent measurements of the finished formula's performance.
There is also an unresolved serving-instruction difference. The verified primary label says one capsule daily, while the current product page says three. Do not divide or multiply the 22 mg entry to manufacture a new daily amount, and do not choose one instruction by inference. Obtain clarification of the directions for the relevant container before deciding on use.
The label is for adults and is not recommended during pregnancy or breastfeeding. Do not exceed the appropriate confirmed instructions, keep the product out of children's reach and do not use it instead of a varied, balanced diet and a healthy lifestyle. Check the complete ingredients for personal sensitivities; an unnamed allergen is not evidence of suitability for a particular allergy.
Current Harmony information
Read the current Harmony product information together with the container label. For a technical comparison of its amylase, look for a matching enzyme specification and activity method. This guide supplies neither an activity value nor a reconciled capsule recommendation.
Frequently Asked Questions
Can 22 mg of amylase be converted into activity units?
Not without a verified activity measurement for the relevant preparation and a defined mass basis. Harmony's current label provides neither that specific-activity value nor the assay conditions, so a conversion would rely on an unverified assumption.
Does the word amylase identify alpha-amylase EC 3.2.1.1?
It does not establish that specific classification for Harmony. The IUBMB entry is an example of a defined enzyme reaction; the product label does not verify the subtype or source. General enzyme explanations should not be mistaken for product specifications.
Why do substrate, pH and temperature belong with an activity result?
They describe the setup in which the reaction was measured. The method also needs its timing and readout. Removing these details can make results from different preparations or tests look comparable when the underlying measurements are not matched.
Does the cited recombinant-enzyme study test Harmony?
No. It characterizes a defined enzyme obtained through a biogas-reactor metagenome. Its measured properties illustrate the detail needed in an assay report, but its source, activity and temperature behaviour cannot be transferred to Harmony's ingredient.
Should I follow one or three capsules for Harmony?
This article does not resolve the conflicting directions. The primary label says one capsule daily and the current web page says three. Clarify the appropriate instructions for the relevant container before use; do not rescale the ingredient panel by assumption.
Recommended
- Harmony One Capsule or Three? How to Resolve the Label Conflict
- Inulin, FOS and GOS: The Prebiotic Fibre Science Behind HARMONY
- Vitamin C and D3 in HARMONY: The Immune-Nutrition Layer Behind Gut Support
- PureDetox Vitamin B5: From Pantothenate to Coenzyme A
- Buying SkinGlow for Copper? What the 1 mg Label Can Tell You
BioEssentials' press page records a Marie Claire feature in partnership with Medias France. Media coverage is not scientific validation of this formula.
Scientific References
- IUBMB Enzyme Nomenclature: EC 3.2.1.1 alpha-amylase
- IUPAC Gold Book: international unit
- Jabbour et al. (2013): A highly thermoactive and salt-tolerant alpha-amylase isolated from a pilot-plant biogas reactor
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. BioEssentials products are food supplements intended to support general wellness and daily nutritional needs. They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any new supplement if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication, or managing a health condition.