Calcium L-Methylfolate in Vitalux Women: How to Read the 200 µg Label
TL;DR:
- Start with the verified Vitalux Women label, daily serving and warning language.
- Use the three cited scientific sources as context; do not convert them into a finished-product medical claim.
- Keep suitability conditional on the complete formula, current label and individual professional guidance.
Editorial answer: Vitalux Women’s controlling label declares 200 µg of folate in the recommended daily serving of two capsules and names calcium L-methylfolate as its source form. The same label presents that amount as 100% of the adult EU nutrient reference value. Those are useful composition and labelling facts, but they do not identify an individual requirement, prove an outcome or establish that the finished formula is equivalent to a material used in a research paper.
This guide focuses on a narrow reading problem: how to keep the declared amount, source-form wording, EU NRV and human-study materials in separate evidence layers. It does not rank folate forms universally, recommend a genotype-based choice or make a medical, reproductive or pregnancy outcome claim.
At the 5 September 2026 editorial check, Shopify classified the mapped France record as ACTIVE and its canonical product page returned direct HTTP 200. ACTIVE describes catalog status rather than guaranteed availability, so mutable price and stock information remains outside this article.

Table of Contents
- Read the Label Line in Three Parts
- Separate a Label Form From a Study Material
- Use the EU NRV for Its Intended Job
- Audit Three Human Study Designs
- Match Five Fields Before Transfer
- Retain the Complete Vitalux Women Label
- Keep Warnings and Commerce Separate
- Use a Practical Reading Sequence
Key Takeaways
| Evidence layer | What is established | Boundary |
|---|---|---|
| Serving | Two capsules per day with water | The amount is not stated per capsule |
| Declared amount | 200 µg folate per daily serving | Not an individual requirement or outcome dose |
| Source form | Calcium L-methylfolate | No undisclosed trade name, purity or study identity |
| EU NRV | 200 µg corresponds to 100% NRV | NRV is not proof of efficacy |
| Human studies | Specified interventions changed folate biomarkers in their protocols | None tested Vitalux Women or its complete formula |
Read the Label Line in Three Parts
The current Vitalux Women product information points readers to a two-capsule daily serving with water, from a container of 90 vegan HPMC capsules. The controlling label line can be reconstructed without adding anything: the nutrient is folate, its declared amount is 200 µg per two capsules, and the ingredient-list source form is calcium L-methylfolate.
Each part answers a different question. “Folate” identifies the nutrient entry. “200 µg” is the declared folate amount in the complete daily portion. “Calcium L-methylfolate” names the source form used in the ingredient list. The label does not separately disclose a carrier mass, a commercial trade name, a purity percentage, a manufacturing process or an analytical stereoisomer ratio.
This grammar prevents two common rewrites. The entry should not become “200 µg of calcium L-methylfolate material” when the label attaches the amount to folate, and the source name should not be expanded into specifications that the package does not print. Label literacy begins by preserving exactly what the number measures.
Separate a Label Form From a Study Material
Research papers may use terms such as L-5-methyltetrahydrofolate, 5-MTHF or [6S]-5-MTHF. Related nomenclature is not enough to declare two interventions identical. A transferable comparison needs the administered material, salt or formulation detail available in the paper, the amount, schedule, participants, duration and measured endpoint.
The Vitalux Women label supports the phrase calcium L-methylfolate. It does not give permission to attach an unlisted study material, branded ingredient or assay specification to the finished product. Conversely, a paper that precisely identifies [6S]-5-MTHF does not automatically describe every calcium L-methylfolate ingredient sold in a multi-ingredient capsule.
This is an evidence boundary rather than a judgment that one form is better or worse. It protects the reader from turning a shared chemical family name into a claim of product equivalence, guaranteed absorption or predictable response.
Use the EU NRV for Its Intended Job
Annex XIII of Regulation (EU) No 1169/2011 lists 200 µg as the adult nutrient reference value for folate. That is why a 200 µg daily label entry can be displayed as 100% NRV.
An NRV is a standardized reference for nutrition labelling and comparison. It is not a clinical threshold, a personalized intake recommendation, a measure of baseline status or a guarantee that a person will notice a change. It also does not convert a source-form name into proof of superior absorption or a finished-product result.
Total intake still depends on food and any overlapping supplements. The defensible reading is modest: Vitalux Women declares an amount equal to the adult EU NRV in its two-capsule serving. Questions about individual intake or suitability require context that the percentage alone cannot provide.
Audit Three Human Study Designs
The first randomized, placebo-controlled double-blind trial assigned 104 women aged 18 to 49 to 113 µg [6S]-5-MTHF, 100 µg folic acid or placebo each day for 24 weeks. Plasma and red-cell folate increased relative to placebo, and the reported slopes did not differ between the two active groups. This is useful evidence that low-dose specified materials can be compared through biomarkers; it is not a Vitalux Women trial and does not establish a product outcome.
A second 24-week randomized double-blind placebo-controlled trial enrolled 144 healthy women aged 19 to 33. Its groups received 400 µg folic acid, an equimolar 416 µg [6S]-5-MTHF amount, 208 µg [6S]-5-MTHF or placebo. Red-cell folate rose more over time with 416 µg [6S]-5-MTHF than with 400 µg folic acid or 208 µg [6S]-5-MTHF. That result belongs to those materials, amounts, participants, duration and biomarker endpoint; it does not make the label’s 200 µg entry a tested equivalent.
The third randomized single-dose crossover study compared 416 µg [6S]-5-MTHF with 400 µg folic acid in 24 healthy women selected for MTHFR 677 CC or TT genotype. Plasma folate area under the curve and peak concentration were higher and time to peak was shorter after [6S]-5-MTHF in both groups. This small acute pharmacokinetic design does not show that a finished product “bypasses MTHFR,” works the same way for every genotype or produces a long-term wellness outcome.
Taken together, the papers do not provide a universal winner. One low-dose long trial reported similar increases between active groups, another biomarker trial reported a larger red-cell-folate increase for one higher [6S]-5-MTHF arm, and the crossover study measured short-term plasma kinetics. The mixed designs are precisely why the complete protocol must remain attached to each finding.
Match Five Fields Before Transfer
| Transfer field | Vitalux Women label | Cited research |
|---|---|---|
| Material | Calcium L-methylfolate is the named source | Specified [6S]-5-MTHF or folic acid interventions |
| Amount | 200 µg folate per two capsules | 100, 113, 208, 400 or 416 µg as described by each protocol |
| Schedule and duration | Daily serving instruction | One dose or daily use for 24 weeks |
| Population | No finished-product trial population | Defined groups of healthy women, with genotype selection in one study |
| Endpoint | No product outcome established | Plasma or red-cell folate and pharmacokinetic measures |
A mismatch in any field limits transfer. Similar-looking numbers should not be matched without checking what each number describes, and a biomarker should not be rewritten as a symptom, medical, reproductive or pregnancy outcome. Research amounts are protocol descriptions, not capsule targets.
Retain the Complete Vitalux Women Label
The daily serving is not a single-folate intervention. The controlling label declares five botanical extracts: ashwagandha root extract 600 mg, maca root extract 180 mg, shatavari root extract 100 mg, Tribulus terrestris fruit extract 100 mg and saffron stigma extract 30 mg.
It also declares zinc 15 mg from zinc bisglycinate, vitamin B6 3.5 mg from pyridoxine hydrochloride, pantothenic acid 6 mg from calcium D-pantothenate, riboflavin 1.4 mg, folate 200 µg from calcium L-methylfolate, selenium 55 µg from L-selenomethionine and vitamin B12 2.5 µg from methylcobalamin. These are composition facts, not a combined clinical claim.
The full Vitalux Women label guide maps the botanical and micronutrient matrix. A separate pantothenic-acid claim guide shows why wording attached to one nutrient must not be reassigned to another. The same separation applies here: no botanical or micronutrient makes the three folate studies into proof for the complete formula.
Keep Warnings and Commerce Separate
The primary label reserves the product for adults, says it is not recommended during pregnancy or breastfeeding, notes that it contains plant extracts and advises consulting a doctor or pharmacist when taking medication. It says not to exceed the recommended daily dose, explains that a food supplement does not replace a varied, balanced diet and healthy lifestyle, and directs users to keep it out of reach of young children.
No named allergen or free-from declaration was identified in the verified Admin body or primary label. Silence is not an allergen-free statement. A reader managing an allergy, medication, health condition, pregnancy or breastfeeding consideration should use the complete current package and appropriate professional guidance rather than infer suitability from this ingredient guide.
Catalog and commerce status form a separate layer. ACTIVE and HTTP 200 confirmed a current information source at the dated check; they did not guarantee inventory, price or purchase availability. Those mutable fields must be checked immediately before publication and should never be used as evidence of product suitability.
Use a Practical Reading Sequence
- Confirm the serving. Read 200 µg as folate per two capsules.
- Preserve the label form. Say calcium L-methylfolate without adding an undisclosed specification.
- Classify the percentage. support 100% EU NRV as a labelling reference.
- Reconstruct the study. Match material, amount, schedule, population and endpoint.
- Keep outcomes bounded. Do not turn folate biomarkers or pharmacokinetics into a result for Vitalux Women.
- Read the whole package. Include every active entry, warning and current commerce check.
The conclusion is deliberately precise. Vitalux Women declares 200 µg folate from calcium L-methylfolate per two-capsule daily serving, equal to 100% of the adult EU NRV. Three human studies provide context for specified [6S]-5-MTHF and folic-acid interventions, but their materials and protocols cannot be collapsed into this label line. None tested Vitalux Women, its complete formula or a finished-product outcome.
Frequently Asked Questions
What does the 200 µg figure on the Vitalux Women label describe?
It is the declared folate amount in the recommended daily serving of two capsules. The primary label names calcium L-methylfolate as the source form; it does not state that 200 µg is the mass of every carrier or source-material component.
Is calcium L-methylfolate identical to every [6S]-5-MTHF study material?
The names are related, but a label name alone does not establish an exact study-grade material, trade name, purity, formulation or analytical specification. Transfer still requires the paper's administered material and protocol to be checked.
Does 100% EU NRV prove that the serving is effective?
No. The 100% value compares the declared 200 µg folate amount with the adult EU nutrient reference value used for labelling. An NRV is not a personal requirement, efficacy threshold or outcome guarantee.
Do the three cited studies prove a result for Vitalux Women or every MTHFR genotype?
No. They tested specified [6S]-5-MTHF or folic-acid interventions with different doses, designs and biomarker endpoints. None tested Vitalux Women, its full formula or a finished-product outcome, and one small genotype study does not support a universal gene-based recommendation.
How is Vitalux Women used, and what warnings apply?
The verified label recommends two capsules per day with water for adults. It says not to use during pregnancy or breastfeeding, notes plant extracts, advises consulting a doctor or pharmacist when taking medication, and says not to exceed the dose. Current availability must be checked separately.
Recommended
- Pantothenic Acid in Vitalux Women: What ‘Normal Mental Performance’ Really Means
- Vitalux Women Explained: A Label-First Guide to Its Adaptogen and Micronutrient Matrix
- Review the current Vitalux Women product information
Our research and formulas have been recognized by leading media outlets such as Marie Claire.
Scientific References
- Venn et al. (2002): randomized placebo-controlled double-blind 24-week trial of 113 µg [6S]-5-MTHF, 100 µg folic acid or placebo in 104 women, measuring plasma and red-cell folate
- Lamers et al. (2006): randomized double-blind placebo-controlled 24-week trial of 208 or 416 µg [6S]-5-MTHF, 400 µg folic acid or placebo in 144 healthy women, measuring folate biomarkers
- Prinz-Langenohl et al. (2009): randomized crossover single-dose comparison of 416 µg [6S]-5-MTHF and 400 µg folic acid in 24 healthy women selected for MTHFR 677 CC or TT genotype
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. BioEssentials products are food supplements intended to support general wellness and daily nutritional needs. They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any new supplement if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication, or managing a health condition.