How to Read the SperBalan Label: Forms, Daily Dose and Claim Boundaries
TL;DR:
- The verified daily serving and named ingredient forms are the factual starting point.
- A matching milligram amount or standardisation percentage does not establish clinical equivalence.
- Normal-function nutrient wording and botanical research must not be converted into treatment claims.
SperBalan lists eight active ingredients in a recommended daily serving of two capsules. Those figures answer an important first questionβwhat the label declaresβbut they do not automatically answer how much reaches the bloodstream, whether a research protocol used the same material, or whether a normal-function claim predicts an individual result. A disciplined reading separates form, dose and claim boundary before drawing a conclusion.

Table of Contents
- Start With the Daily Serving
- Forms Identify the Source, Not the Outcome
- Extract Names Are Not Standardisation Certificates
- Study Details Control Evidence Transfer
- What Permitted Nutrient Claims Actually Say
- A Five-Question Label Check
- How to Use the Label Practically
Key Takeaways
| Reading layer | What the label can establish | What needs more evidence |
|---|---|---|
| Form | The named source, such as L-carnitine tartrate or ubiquinone | Comparative absorption or superiority |
| Daily dose | The amount supplied by two capsules | Equivalence to a different research protocol |
| Botanical identity | Species, plant part and mass when disclosed | Marker content when no standardisation is stated |
| Permitted claim | A precise contribution to a normal function | Treatment, diagnosis or guaranteed personal outcomes |
Start With the Daily Serving
The current SperBalan product information and the primary English regulatory label state that the recommended use is two capsules per day with water. Every active amount below refers to that two-capsule serving, not to one capsule. Ninety capsules therefore provide 45 recommended daily servings by simple arithmetic.
| Ingredient | Declared form or source | Amount per two capsules | NRV on the label |
|---|---|---|---|
| L-carnitine | From L-carnitine tartrate | 408 mg | Not established |
| Maritime pine bark extract | Pinus pinaster | 230 mg | Not established |
| Coenzyme Q10 | Ubiquinone | 100 mg | Not established |
| Vitamin C | L-ascorbic acid | 100 mg | 125% |
| Zinc | Zinc bisglycinate | 15 mg | 150% |
| Selenium | L-selenomethionine | 50 micrograms | 91% |
| Black pepper fruit extract | Piper nigrum | 5 mg | Not established |
| Vitamin B6 | Pyridoxine hydrochloride | 3.5 mg | 250% |
An NRV percentage is a labelling reference for vitamins and minerals; it is not an efficacy score. Conversely, βNRV not establishedβ does not mean that an ingredient is ineffective or unsafe. It means that this label does not have an NRV percentage to display for that substance.
Forms Identify the Source, Not the Outcome
The phrase βL-carnitine, from L-carnitine tartrate, 408 mgβ distinguishes the declared nutrient from its source compound. The responsible reading is that the serving declares 408 mg of L-carnitine supplied from the tartrate. The label does not disclose a separate total weight for the complete tartrate raw material, so there is no basis for reverse-engineering one. Nor should the number be treated as interchangeable with 408 mg of acetyl-L-carnitine or another carnitine form.
Coenzyme Q10 is specified as ubiquinone, the oxidised form. That identity is useful, but it does not settle a βbest formβ argument. A four-way human crossover study comparing four formulations that each contained 100 mg of CoQ10 found formulation-dependent differences in exposure. The lesson for this label is narrow: a matching milligram amount does not reveal the effects of carrier, solubilisation or finished-product design.
Zinc bisglycinate, L-selenomethionine and pyridoxine hydrochloride similarly identify source forms. The names should be reported accurately without turning them into unsupported rankings. βBisglycinateβ does not by itself prove that the finished formula is best absorbed; βL-selenomethionineβ does not guarantee a biomarker response; and naming pyridoxine hydrochloride does not establish an outcome beyond the evidence and permitted wording for vitamin B6.
Extract Names Are Not Standardisation Certificates
The botanical entries require a different identity check. SperBalan declares 230 mg of maritime pine bark extract and names Pinus pinaster, but the verified label does not provide an extraction ratio, solvent, procyanidin percentage or proprietary extract name. Species and mass are not substitutes for those specifications.
This matters because a randomised human crossover trial of French maritime pine bark used a specifically characterised low-molecular-weight, procyanidin-rich extract. Its findings belong to that studied material and protocol. They cannot be assigned automatically to every Pinus pinaster extract, and the SperBalan ingredient should not be called Pycnogenol or given a branded extract's marker profile without documentary evidence.
The same restraint applies to the 5 mg black pepper fruit extract. The label names Piper nigrum but does not state a piperine percentage. It would therefore be inaccurate to promise a quantified absorption increase, assume a standardised piperine dose or calculate a specific interaction from the five-milligram figure. The label's practical warningβto consult a doctor or pharmacist when taking medicationβshould be preserved without inventing a mechanism or risk magnitude.
Study Details Control Evidence Transfer
A research citation becomes useful only after checking at least five variables: material, dose, schedule, population and outcome. A randomised human study of L-carnitine-L-tartrate and exercise metabolism, for example, used two grams of L-carnitine-L-tartrate with 80 grams of carbohydrate twice daily for 24 weeks in 14 healthy men. SperBalan instead declares 408 mg of L-carnitine from tartrate within a multi-ingredient, two-capsule food supplement.
That source is valuable here because the mismatch is visible. The study used a different amount, a large carbohydrate co-intervention, a long protocol and exercise-metabolism endpoints. It did not test SperBalan, its complete formula or its labelled serving. The study therefore cannot be converted into a product-performance promise. Even a trial using the same ingredient name would need closer alignment before its findings could describe the finished supplement.
The same checklist prevents two other common errors. First, a 100 mg CoQ10 study does not automatically match every 100 mg ubiquinone product when delivery systems differ. Second, a pine study using a defined procyanidin-rich extract does not identify an unstandardised extract. Evidence transfer is not a yes-or-no property of an ingredient name; it is a graded judgement based on how closely the actual materials and methods match.
What Permitted Nutrient Claims Actually Say
The English label uses precise normal-function wording reflected in the official EU list of permitted health claims. Zinc contributes to normal fertility and reproduction and to the maintenance of normal testosterone levels in the blood. Selenium contributes to normal spermatogenesis. Vitamin B6 contributes to the regulation of hormonal activity. Vitamin C, zinc and selenium contribute to the protection of cells from oxidative stress.
The key verb is βcontributes.β These claims concern specified nutrients when the relevant conditions of use are met. They do not turn the whole formula into a fertility treatment, diagnose a deficiency or promise a change in a laboratory value. βMaintenance of normal testosteroneβ must not be rewritten as βboosts testosterone.β βNormal spermatogenesisβ must not become βincreases sperm countβ or βguarantees motility.β Normal fertility and reproduction wording does not establish improved conception or pregnancy odds.
Botanicals and CoQ10 do not inherit the authorised claims attached to zinc, selenium, vitamin B6 or vitamin C. Similarly, combining several ingredients with plausible roles does not create a new authorised finished-product claim. A transparent article can explain why the nutrients are present while keeping the regulatory wording attached to the correct ingredient and normal function.
A Five-Question Label Check
- What is the serving? Confirm whether amounts are per capsule or per recommended daily dose.
- What exactly is measured? Separate the declared nutrient amount from its source compound or raw material.
- How fully is an extract defined? Look for species, plant part, ratio, solvent and marker standardisation.
- Does the research match? Compare form, dose, schedule, population, co-interventions and outcome.
- What category is the wording? Keep a permitted normal-function claim separate from treatment or guaranteed-result language.
This five-question sequence is more informative than ranking a formula by the longest ingredient list. It shows where the label is precise, where additional specifications would help, and where research should remain contextual rather than promotional.
How to Use the Label Practically
The recommended use is two capsules per day with water, and the label says not to exceed that dose. It describes the product as adult-only, states that a food supplement is not a substitute for a varied diet, and advises keeping it out of children's reach. Because plant extracts are present, it directs people taking medication to consult a doctor or pharmacist. No allergen-free claim should be inferred from the absence of a named allergen statement.
The France product page was active and returned a direct public page when the editorial source was checked, but its verified variant was unavailable. This guide therefore links to the page as current product information, not as an availability promise. Price, stock and market access are mutable and must be checked again rather than described as permanent facts.
For deeper context, the existing maritime pine standardisation guide explains why extract identity matters, while the selenium and normal spermatogenesis guide examines one permitted nutrient claim. The present article has a different role: it connects every label layer without turning any one ingredient into a universal verdict.
βA label confirms composition. Responsible interpretation asks whether form, dose, study design and permitted wording support the next sentence.β
Frequently Asked Questions
Does 408 mg refer to L-carnitine or L-carnitine tartrate?
The verified label declares 408 mg of L-carnitine from L-carnitine tartrate in the two-capsule daily serving. It does not state the total tartrate raw-material weight, so that figure should not be reverse-calculated or treated as equivalent to another carnitine form.
Is ubiquinone the same as ubiquinol?
They are interconvertible oxidised and reduced forms of coenzyme Q10, and this label specifically names ubiquinone. Human formulation research shows that carrier and delivery details can affect exposure, so the form name alone does not prove better or worse absorption.
Does 230 mg of maritime pine bark reveal its procyanidin content?
No. The label identifies Pinus pinaster bark extract and its daily mass, but it does not declare a procyanidin percentage, extract ratio, solvent or proprietary identity. It should not be called Pycnogenol or assigned specifications from a different extract.
Do the zinc, selenium and vitamin B6 claims mean SperBalan treats infertility?
No. The permitted wording concerns normal physiological functions of individual nutrients under the relevant conditions of use. It does not turn the finished supplement into a treatment, diagnosis or guarantee of sperm, testosterone, conception or pregnancy outcomes.
How many daily servings are in 90 capsules?
At the labelled use of two capsules per day, 90 capsules equal 45 recommended daily servings. Take them with water, do not exceed the recommended dose, and follow the label's advice to consult a doctor or pharmacist when medication is involved.
Recommended
- How to read a 3 mg boron label without overstating the evidence
- How to separate authorised nutrient claims from product outcomes
- Why botanical standardisation is not complete extract identity
Our research and formulas have been recognized by leading media outlets such as Marie Claire.
Scientific References
- Wall et al.: randomised human L-carnitine-L-tartrate and carbohydrate exercise protocol
- Weis et al.: human crossover comparison of four 100 mg CoQ10 formulations
- Valls et al.: randomised crossover trial of a characterised procyanidin-rich French maritime pine extract
These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. BioEssentials products are food supplements intended to support general wellness and daily nutritional needs. They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any new supplement if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication, or managing a health condition.