Astaxanthin oleoresin label-research desk with red sample and algae microscopy

Astaxanthin-Rich Oleoresin in Revital: How to Read the 10 mg Label Line


TL;DR:

  • Start with the verified Revital label, daily serving and warning language.
  • Use the three cited scientific sources as context; do not convert them into a finished-product medical claim.
  • Keep suitability conditional on the complete formula, current label and individual professional guidance.

Editorial answer: Revital’s verified French label declares 10 mg of astaxanthin-rich oleoresin derived from Haematococcus pluvialis algae in the recommended daily serving of two capsules. The 10 mg is the mass of the oleoresin ingredient, not 10 mg of pure astaxanthin; because the label gives no assay or percentage, the contained astaxanthin amount cannot be calculated from that line.

This guide is about unit discipline and study transfer. It does not rank astaxanthin materials, prescribe a target or claim efficacy or a finished-formula outcome. It asks whether a paper and a label describe the same material, amount and protocol before any connection is made.

At the 5 September 2026 editorial check, Shopify classified the mapped Revital record as ACTIVE, and the canonical PDP and product JSON returned direct HTTP 200. Variant 56845976273278 showed 195 units, deny policy, availability true and EUR 24.87. Those mutable facts require another check immediately before POST and do not change how the 10 mg line is read.

Astaxanthin oleoresin label-research desk with red sample and algae microscopy

Table of Contents

Key Takeaways

Question Verified answer Boundary
What does 10 mg describe? Astaxanthin-rich oleoresin per two capsules Not 10 mg of pure astaxanthin
Is the algal source known? Yes: Haematococcus pluvialis No strain, assay or extraction method is declared
Can pure astaxanthin be calculated? No The required percentage is absent
Does the warning prove an ester profile? No It restricts same-day use with other supplements containing astaxanthin esters
Did the three papers test Revital? No Each used a different characterized exposure

Read the Two Label Layers

The active table declares 10 mg of astaxanthin-rich oleoresin and identifies Haematococcus pluvialis in parentheses. The ingredient list adds that the oleoresin is derived from that alga. These two lines establish ingredient category, source organism, daily serving and oleoresin mass.

They do not establish an astaxanthin percentage, an amount of pure astaxanthin, an ester profile, a stereoisomer profile or an extraction method. The species is reportable because the label names it. Every additional specification remains unknown unless a current document for this exact ingredient states it.

The distinction matters because β€œ10 mg oleoresin” and β€œ10 mg astaxanthin” have different nouns. A number cannot be detached from the substance it quantifies. The reporting unit here is the complete oleoresin ingredient per two capsules.

Separate Oleoresin Mass From Active Amount

An oleoresin is a material that can contain multiple constituents. To calculate the mass of one constituent, an analyst needs both the total ingredient mass and a verified assay for that constituent. Revital supplies the first value only: 10 mg of oleoresin.

Field Revital label status Editorial action
Ingredient mass 10 mg astaxanthin-rich oleoresin Report exactly
Source organism Haematococcus pluvialis Report as label-declared source
Astaxanthin assay or percentage Not declared Do not calculate an active amount
Ester and stereoisomer profile Not declared Do not infer from another material
Extraction method Not declared Leave unspecified

A label reader therefore cannot solve β€œ10 mg multiplied by an unknown percentage.” No assumed industry percentage, supplier norm or value from another product closes that gap. Even a plausible estimate would cease to be a transcription of Revital’s label.

Adult separating oleoresin mass from quantified astaxanthin in study notes

Use EFSA Units Without Importing a Specification

The official EFSA call for data on the astaxanthin safety assessment records the EU authorization context for a specified Haematococcus pluvialis astaxanthin-rich ingredient using two separate quantities: 40–80 mg of ingredient and a corresponding maximum of 8 mg astaxanthin per day. That unit structure is useful for label literacy because ingredient mass and quantified constituent mass remain distinct.

It is not a conversion key for Revital. The EFSA opinion evaluates specifications and exposure conditions described in that dossier; the Revital label does not disclose the assay needed to show equivalence. Do not apply EFSA’s ratio, maximum or ingredient specification to Revital, and do not use this article as an assessment of individual suitability.

Audit the 40 mg Formulation Study

The 2003 open parallel pharmacokinetic study enrolled 32 healthy nonsmoking men aged 20–46. After a breakfast containing about 15 g fat, each participant received one nominal 40 mg astaxanthin dose in one of four parallel formulations. The reference used spray-dried Haematococcus pluvialis algal meal with dextrin; the other formulations added specified lipid and emulsifier systems. Blood sampling extended from predose through 28 days.

That design records a quantified astaxanthin dose, named algal material and distinct formulation matrices. Revital records 10 mg of oleoresin but no astaxanthin assay. The paper did not administer Revital, its complete formula or its two-capsule serving. Its 40 mg number cannot be scaled against Revital’s 10 mg number because the numbers quantify different things.

Audit the Salmon Food-Matrix Study

The 2008 randomized double-blind food intervention assigned 28 healthy men aged 20–49 to two groups for four weeks. Participants ate 250 g per day of wild Oncorhynchus species or aquacultured Salmo salar. Both foods were assayed at 5 micrograms astaxanthin per gram, yielding 1.25 mg astaxanthin per day, and the protocol used fasting plasma sampling plus reverse-phase and chiral HPLC.

This is a quantified constituent delivered in a salmon food matrix, with source groups and analytical characterization built into the protocol. Revital is a multi-ingredient capsule whose 10 mg line quantifies oleoresin. The study’s daily amount, matrix, source and four-week schedule should be recorded, not converted into a claim about the capsule.

Audit the Diesters Study

The 2004 sequential single-dose pharmacokinetic study involved three men aged 41–50. One meal delivered a 10 mg astaxanthin equivalent from a fatty-acyl astaxanthin diester preparation; four weeks later, a second meal delivered 100 mg equivalent from the same preparation. Plasma sampling continued for 76 hours, and the paper reported the preparation’s geometric and optical-isomer composition.

This paper is the clearest warning against number matching. Its first dose and Revital’s label both display β€œ10 mg,” but one is a quantified astaxanthin equivalent from a characterized diester preparation and the other is total oleoresin mass without an assay. Identical numerals do not create equivalent exposures. The tiny sequential study also supplies no basis for rewriting Revital’s undeclared ester, isomer or extraction fields.

Compare the Three Protocols

Protocol Reported exposure Matrix and schedule Why transfer stops
PMID 12885395 Nominal 40 mg astaxanthin Named algal-meal formulations; one dose Different unit and characterized formulation
PMID 17967218 1.25 mg astaxanthin daily 250 g salmon daily; four weeks Food matrix, assayed amount and different schedule
PMID 15556071 10 mg then 100 mg astaxanthin equivalents Characterized diesters; two acute meals four weeks apart Equivalent-active unit and declared ester/isomer composition
Revital label 10 mg astaxanthin-rich oleoresin Two-capsule multi-ingredient serving daily Astaxanthin assay and detailed material specification absent

The table does not decide which material is preferable. It aligns nouns, units, matrices and schedules so that an undeclared field remains undeclared.

Retain the Complete Revital Label

The verified panel covers a 90-capsule format and directs adults to take two capsules daily with water, preferably during a meal. Amounts below are per that full daily serving.

Declared entry Amount Verified form or label note
Shilajit 200 mg No standardization on the primary panel
Creatine 100 mg Creatine monohydrate in ingredients
NADH 100 mg Do not replace with the PDP’s 600 mg NAD+ wording
Alpha-lipoic acid 100 mg Exact active-table name
Quercetin 100 mg Exact active-table name
L-carnitine 100 mg Exact active-table name
L-arginine alpha-ketoglutarate 100 mg Exact active-table name
Ribose 100 mg Exact active-table name
Resveratrol 60 mg The warning separately names trans-resveratrol
Algae oil 50 mg Spirulina platensis oil in ingredients
Coenzyme Q10 40 mg Exact active-table name
Magnesium 30 mg; 8% NRV Magnesium oxide in ingredients
Zinc 10 mg; 100% NRV Zinc bisglycinate in ingredients
Black pepper fruit extract 10 mg Piper nigrum
Astaxanthin-rich oleoresin 10 mg oleoresin Derived from Haematococcus pluvialis algae
Vitamin E 10 mg; 83% NRV DL-alpha-tocopheryl acetate in ingredients
Vitamin D 4 micrograms; 80% NRV Cholecalciferol in ingredients

The ingredient list also names the HPMC capsule shell and silicon dioxide. The label declares manufacture in China by Xi’an ECO Biotech Factory Co., Ltd. for POLARSTAR OÜ. A France-facing handle and regulatory artifact do not change that manufacturing statement.

Keep every warning attached to the formula: adults only; not recommended during pregnancy or breastfeeding; do not exceed the recommended dose; keep away from young children; and do not use while taking medication because the formula contains trans-resveratrol. Do not consume it on the same day as other supplements containing astaxanthin esters. That last sentence is a use restriction, not disclosure of Revital’s ester profile.

The label also says supplements do not replace a varied, balanced diet and healthy lifestyle, and directs storage in a cool, dry place protected from light and moisture. It names no allergen or free-from status, so absence of an allergen statement cannot become an allergen-free claim.

Study-transfer checklist for astaxanthin source, amount, matrix and protocol

Apply a Nine-Field Transfer Check

  1. Reporting unit: ingredient mass, quantified astaxanthin or astaxanthin equivalent?
  2. Source: which organism and material does the paper name?
  3. Assay: is the astaxanthin percentage measured for the exact material?
  4. Form: are ester and stereoisomer details specified?
  5. Matrix: algal meal, food, oleoresin, oil system or multi-ingredient capsule?
  6. Amount: what substance does the number quantify?
  7. Schedule: one dose, repeated daily use or a sequential design?
  8. Population: who participated and how many people were studied?
  9. Sampling period: when and how were variables measured?

For Revital, the answer begins with 10 mg astaxanthin-rich oleoresin from Haematococcus pluvialis per two capsules. Assay, ester profile, stereoisomer profile and extraction method remain unanswered. That is enough to read the label accurately and enough reason not to convert the line into 10 mg of pure astaxanthin.

Review the current Revital product information for the live handle and commerce status, while retaining the regulatory label as the formula source. Recheck both immediately before publication; if a future label supplies an assay or revised wording, repeat this field-by-field audit rather than carrying today’s gap forward.

Frequently Asked Questions

What exactly does the Revital label declare for astaxanthin-rich oleoresin?

The verified French label declares 10 mg of astaxanthin-rich oleoresin derived from Haematococcus pluvialis algae in the recommended daily serving of two capsules. The 10 mg describes the oleoresin, not a quantified amount of pure astaxanthin.

Can the amount of astaxanthin in Revital be calculated from the label?

No. The label does not provide an astaxanthin assay or percentage, so the amount of astaxanthin within the 10 mg oleoresin cannot be calculated from the verified information.

Does the astaxanthin-ester warning disclose Revital’s ester profile?

No. The warning says not to consume Revital on the same day as other supplements containing astaxanthin esters. It is a use restriction and does not state Revital’s ester composition, isomer pattern or extraction method.

Did any of the three cited human studies test Revital or 10 mg of its oleoresin?

No. The studies used quantified astaxanthin in algal-meal formulations, a salmon food matrix, or a characterized diester preparation. None tested Revital, its two-capsule serving or its complete formula.

What should be matched before applying an astaxanthin study to a label?

Match the reporting unit, source, assay, matrix, administered form, amount, schedule, population and sampling period. If a key field is missing or different, describe the gap instead of transferring the study.


Our research and formulas have been recognized by leading media outlets such as Marie Claire.

Scientific References

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. BioEssentials products are food supplements intended to support general wellness and daily nutritional needs. They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any new supplement if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication, or managing a health condition.