Two adults reviewing unbranded ingredient records in a sunlit library reading room

Buying Glucorine for ALA? Check the 400 mg Ingredient Identity


TL;DR:

  • Glucorine's France label declares alpha-lipoic acid 400 mg per recommended daily serving of two capsules, not 400 mg per capsule.
  • Glucorine's label does not declare an R:S proportion or name sodium R-lipoate. Neither a half-and-half mixture nor R-only material should be assumed.
  • The cited studies used specifically described materials and delivery conditions, not Glucorine. A form-specific buying decision needs matching documentation, not a borrowed absorption claim.

Glucorine's France label declares alpha-lipoic acid, or ALA, at 400 mg per recommended daily serving of two capsules. It does not, by itself, tell a reader the proportion of the R and S forms or identify the ingredient as sodium R-lipoate.

This guide keeps those questions separate: what the label actually declares, what a scientific paper used, and what remains unknown. The aim is to build a checkable ingredient record before choosing a formula, without turning an ALA study into a claim about Glucorine.

Two adults reviewing unbranded ingredient records in a sunlit library reading room

Table of Contents

Key Takeaways

Question Current label answer Keep separate
Declared ALA amount 400 mg per two capsules A measured blood concentration
R:S proportion Not stated A guessed half-and-half calculation
Sodium R-lipoate Not named A different study material
Finished-formula evidence Not provided by the cited studies Ingredient pharmacokinetics

What the 400 mg Row Establishes

The active panel says alpha-lipoic acid 400 mg, with amounts reported for the recommended daily serving. The directions say two capsules per day with water. Read the amount together with that serving; it is not 400 mg declared for each capsule.

The ingredient list also uses the alpha-lipoic-acid name. It does not specify R-ALA alone, give an R:S ratio or name sodium R-lipoate. For this buyer record, the appropriate entries are the printed name and daily amount, followed by a clear note that those additional identity details are not declared.

Do not convert 400 mg into 200 mg of each form on the assumption that the material is a half-and-half mixture. That arithmetic would require information not supplied by this label. Nor should a generic ingredient name be rewritten as a more specific form because a paper or another supplier uses it.

R and S Are Identity Questions

R and S distinguish mirror-image molecular forms, known as enantiomers. They share a molecular formula but differ in their spatial arrangement. The letters are part of a chemical-identity description; they are not a product ranking or a reason to assign an outcome to a capsule.

A paper that names a racemic material is providing a detail that the current Glucorine label does not provide. A paper that names an R-only material supplies a different detail again. Neither description can be borrowed to fill the empty R:S field in Glucorine's buyer record.

The distinction is practical when reading evidence. Ask whether the paper identifies the form and whether that same identity is established for the item being considered. If one side is unspecified, record a mismatch in documentation rather than declaring the materials identical or different in performance.

An adult comparing two blank research folders at a quiet daylight desk

Read the Material Used in the Study

In a 2014 randomized crossover pharmacokinetic study, 24 healthy adults received 600 mg of racemic ALA in tablet or solution formulations under fasting conditions. The investigators measured the R and S forms separately. That design shows why a paper's material, formulation and measurement method deserve their own fields.

The study did not test Glucorine's 400 mg ALA row, its recommended two capsules or the complete formula. Its plasma measurements should not become an absorption percentage for this product. The experimental amount and fasting conditions are study methods, not new directions for taking Glucorine.

A Sodium Salt Is a Different Description

A 2007 study of sodium R-lipoate gave 12 healthy adults 600 mg of R-lipoic acid as its sodium salt, pre-dissolved in water. The paper reports affiliations with the R-lipoic-acid producer GeroNova for several authors. That connection belongs alongside the methods when weighing the evidence.

This was a named R-form salt in a prepared liquid, not a test of Glucorine capsules. Its findings do not establish that Glucorine contains that salt or that one form is the best choice for everyone. The useful comparison here is between documented materials, not between claimed winners.

Delivery Conditions Belong in the Record

A 1998 pharmacokinetic study in 12 healthy volunteers examined racemic ALA in 200 mg and 600 mg film-coated tablets, with a separate 200 mg intravenous administration for comparison. Those delivery routes and amounts were part of an experimental design.

They cannot be reduced to the statement that a capsule containing ALA reproduces the study. The article studied a named preparation and pharmacokinetic measurements, not Glucorine or a health result from its blend. The separate intravenous arm is not a supplement-use option or an instruction for a reader.

ALA identity diagram showing mirror-image R and S forms separately from Glucorine's 400 mg daily declaration and unstated R:S proportion

Make a Buyer Record Without Filling Gaps

Start with the product name, market, current label version and exact serving. Add the ingredient wording and declared amount. For Glucorine, that gives the France label, two capsules daily, alpha-lipoic acid and 400 mg. Keep R:S proportion and a sodium-R-lipoate specification marked as not declared.

When considering a paper, add its identified material, delivery format, amount, participants, conditions and measured endpoint in a separate record. Do not place its numbers in the product column. A match in the broad ALA name is only one part of that comparison.

If a form-specific purchase matters to you, ask for documentation tied to the exact ingredient and finished item: a supplier specification, the manufacturer's identity explanation or a relevant analytical report. A generic certificate from an unrelated ingredient is not evidence for the current pack. No such additional report is being claimed verified here.

The comparison can stop with an unknown entry. Missing detail is a reason to keep a conclusion narrow, not proof that the material is inferior, superior or unsuitable. Apply the same standard to another brand rather than accepting a more specific marketing phrase without documentation.

Check the Complete Seven-Active Formula

Glucorine is not a single-ingredient ALA item. Its two-capsule panel also declares myo-inositol 450 mg, fenugreek seed extract 150 mg, zinc 10 mg, niacin 16 mg, chromium 25 micrograms and black-pepper fruit extract 5 mg. The ingredient list names zinc bisglycinate, nicotinamide and chromium picolinate, with an HPMC capsule shell.

The current seven-active label does not list berberine. The black-pepper extract amount is not a declared amount of pure piperine or proof that the finished blend increases absorption. Reading the complete formula prevents a purchase decision from resting on an ALA study alone.

The label is for adults, is not recommended during pregnancy or breastfeeding, and advises consulting a doctor or pharmacist when medication is used. Do not exceed its recommended daily amount. Keep supplements away from young children; they do not replace a varied, balanced diet and healthy lifestyle. Store this product cool and dry, protected from light and moisture.

No specific allergen declaration was found in the reviewed label. That absence does not certify the formula as allergen-free or rule out cross-contact. Where suitability depends on that information, obtain product-specific clarification rather than relying on the capsule material or botanical names.

When More Detail Matters for Your Choice

If your aim is specifically to match a named R-form material in a paper, this label alone cannot complete that match. An item with verified form-specific documentation may better answer that particular buying question. If you are considering Glucorine as a multi-ingredient formula, review all seven actives, directions and warnings rather than treating its ALA line as a substitute for those checks.

The current Glucorine product information is a place to review the catalog entry. At today's check the page was accessible, but the selected France variant was unavailable. An active listing is not a stock promise, and availability should be checked again when making a purchase decision.

The result of this review is limited but usable: 400 mg is the declared daily ALA amount. The R:S proportion, a sodium-R-lipoate specification and any finished-product pharmacokinetic result remain unestablished by the reviewed label and these studies.

Frequently Asked Questions

Does Glucorine declare 400 mg of ALA in each capsule?

No. The 400 mg row is reported for the recommended daily serving of two capsules. Keep the amount attached to that serving rather than reading it as a per-capsule declaration.

Can I calculate 200 mg each of R-ALA and S-ALA?

Not from this label. That calculation assumes a half-and-half mixture, but the reviewed document does not declare the R:S proportion. Record the additional identity detail as unknown.

Is Glucorine's ALA named as sodium R-lipoate?

No. The ingredient list uses alpha-lipoic acid. A scientific paper using a specifically named salt cannot establish that the same material is present in Glucorine.

Do the cited studies show how Glucorine is absorbed?

No. They measured pharmacokinetics of identified ALA preparations under their own methods. They did not test Glucorine's 400 mg line, two capsules or seven-active finished formula.

What should I check if I want a particular ALA form?

Check documentation for the exact ingredient and product, including the stated form, formulation, serving and relevant identity report. If those details are unavailable, do not replace them with assumptions or a certificate for an unrelated material.


BioEssentials' press page records a Marie Claire feature in partnership with Medias France. Media coverage is not scientific validation of this formula.

Scientific References

These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. BioEssentials products are food supplements intended to support general wellness and daily nutritional needs. They are not intended to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. Always consult a qualified healthcare professional before starting any new supplement if you are pregnant, breastfeeding, taking medication, or managing a health condition.